Ubuntu Entertainment System

Yesterday’s post sent me to ebay looking for vga to tv converters. There are quiet a few that are fairly cheap (under $30). I’m not expecting any sort of excellent quality out of this project, but I would like something that doesn’t completely suck either. My freePC is an HP E-Vectra. That has been upgraded to a 40 gig HD, everything else is stuck at how it came. I may add ram if needed.

Here’s what I’m looking to get out of this system:

  1. RSS/TV/Torrent-To keep up with shows that I can’t watch right away
  2. Emulation Gaming-I have a good collection of ROMs that I want to take advantage of.
  3. Music-My mp3 collection, pandora and some streaming content.
  4. Videos-Apple trailers, youtube and anyother crap I may come across.

That’s really about it. We watch some TV, my kid and I like to play video games (we don’t have a current or next gen console yet), and I would like to built some speakers for music to listen to.

The one thing I haven’t figured out or put to much thought into is controlling it. I probably won’t be purchasing any wireless keyboard and mouse set so the wire versions will have to do. For gaming I would like to see if the old XBox controller usb hack will work.

That’s all for now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

